Click to skip to site content
Seven Stations: Selections from MOCA’s Collection

Installation view of Seven Stations: Selections from MOCA’s Collection, December 21, 2019–ongoing at MOCA Grand Avenue. Courtesy of The Museum of Contemporary Art. Photo by Jeff McLane.

Seven Stations: Selections from MOCA’s Collection

Seven Stations: Selections from MOCA’s Collection charts a route through the museum’s permanent collection with works from the 1950s until today. Organized as a series of distinct stops that present dialogues between artists, artworks, and themes, the exhibition departs from conventional art historical narratives to bring forth new and unexpected views of the collection, from mid-20th-century depictions of America in transition and psychologically charged figurative forms to early experiments in video and a gallery of MOCA’s beloved Mark Rothko paintings. Featuring iconic works alongside several recent acquisitions that underscore MOCA's perennial commitment to presenting the art of our time, the exhibition celebrates the multiplicity of the museum’s holdings, which now comprises more than 7,000 artworks.

Artists in the exhibition include: Terry Adkins, Ruth Asawa, Judith Bernstein, Dara Birnbaum, Lee Bontecou, Carlos Cruz-Diez, Robert Frank, Samara Golden, Dan Graham, Naotaka Hiro, Joan Jonas, Yayoi Kusama, Liz Larner, Linda Montano, Bruce Nauman, Louise Nevelson, Nam June Paik, Beverly Pepper, Robert Rauschenberg, Martha Rosler, Mark Rothko, Nancy Rubins, Betye Saar, Richard Serra, Alina Szapocznikow, Atsuko Tanaka, Kaari Upson, Nari Ward, and Mason Williams.

Seven Stations: Selections from MOCA’s Collection is organized by Mia Locks, Senior Curator and Head of New Initiatives, and Bennett Simpson, Senior Curator and Administrative Department Head, with Karlyn Olvido, Curatorial Assistant, The Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles.

Exhibitions at MOCA are supported by the MOCA Fund for Exhibitions with major funding provided by The Offield Family Foundation and generous funding provided by Judith Angerman, Earl and Shirley Greif Foundation, Nathalie Marciano and Julie Miyoshi.